Part 2: On lonely girls and broken hearts

writing

These last few days I struggled trying to formulate in my head this “Part 2” of my “Lonely Girls and Broken Hearts” blog post, because it is the part where I gotta get to the actual story and stop waxing poetic about what a beautiful, special person I am. 😛 I find myself facing a few obstacles, one is that while I still have a firm grasp on the meat of the story, my feelings, my impressions, I no longer have all the bones i.e. the facts. I worry that I’ll be constructing a kind of tottering Frankenstein with no leg to stand on, slumping on a crutch engineered haphazardly out of fiction.

I knew J twice. The first time was over a decade ago, I think I was 18 or 19, he was 21 or 22? I met him in a community college classroom. Inexplicably there were numerous occasions when I took random classes at SMC while enrolled as a full time student at UCLA, I am not sure why I did this, but it definitely contributed to the extravagant 6 years I spent as a UCLA student working on a paltry undergraduate degree in comparative lit. J was there, like me, on an academic hiatus of some kind, but from Cal. He wasn’t someone who immediately caught my attention, admittedly because he just wasn’t at all my type. At the time I had a pretty specific penchant for men of considerably greater age, stature and accomplishment, so peers hardly ever registered on my discriminating radar. In fact I never dated a peer, never ever. I remember that when I finally noticed J it wasn’t so much he that caught my attention as it was the way in which he commanded the attention of all the other females in that classroom. His obvious sway over them was what really piqued my interest. Closer inspection revealed that, although to me he didn’t appear particularly attractive, he was by conventional standards quite comely. Medium height, well built, very athletic, with wild, curly hair, light eyes and a bright smile. Further examination was necessary and thoroughly conducted, it proved that he was wickedly bright, intelligent, ironic, self-aware, free thinking and completely, disarmingly, dangerously charming. Additionally, to my surprise, he was easily one the most literary people I had met to date. Despite all this I wasn’t quite sold on him yet.

I remember as I was getting to know him along with some of my other classmates, it became evident to me that he had spent time out of class with one of the girls who was in our shit-shooting group. The way she looked at him one day let me know that something had happened with them. He proceeded to make a comment to her about her alluringly transparent blouse, calling her an enchantress, she laughed and sort of blushed, but I knew then that she was in trouble. His compliment was executed publicly and jovially, playing to the audience rather than to her. I read that playfulness for what it was, a way to trivialize whatever had transpired between them. One thing about me worth noting is that I always spoke rather fluent Male-ese, the male agenda was as obvious to me as a circus parade, which is actually quite ironic given how the rest of this story unfolded. Later that day, the girl in question confided in me that they did hang out and that something sweet or intimate transpired between them, like he held her hand, and maybe there was a kiss? I don’t remember now. I also don’t remember how him and I actually ended up spending time together. I think he may have given me a ride home one night. When I later teased him about whatever had happened with that girl from class, he shrugged it off and steered the conversation elsewhere. It didn’t much matter to me, and really wasn’t any of my business. But I guess in retrospect I could assign it the metaphorical meaning of a tiny red flag.

As little time went on I became more and more taken with him. I was impressed with the way he thought, the things he said, the words he used. We were able to talk and talk and talk on the subjects of so many things, and although our opinions varied, I felt we always understood one another completely. I found a true counterpoint in him, as well as an intellect vastly superior to mine. Let no mistake be made though, it was a truly platonic friendship. I never for a second wanted more, in fact had he attempted more I would have been sorely disappointed and the whole thing would have gone left. Luckily, we were of a similar mind on the subject, he never indicated to me that I was of any interest to him as a woman, which flattered me rather than otherwise, as I got plenty of that kind of attention elsewhere. His friendship flattered me all around, he wooed me with it like a professional tamer of tigers and lonely girls, and before I knew it I was quite under his spell, purring like a kitten. I finally had a friend who understood me. It was as if I had dreamt him up and the universe obliged me by spitting him out in human form, but only for a pinch.

Our time together ended as seamlessly as it began, he went back to Northern California, back to school, back to some girl he loved and pined for and I continued with my lonely girl life. In the years to follow I frequently thought of him with great and rare fondness. I knew that he had backpacked through Europe for a few months at some point, I think this was something on his agenda shortly after going back to Berkeley. Our shared love of romantic poets meant that we were likely to have somewhat matching itineraries, especially in England, so when I went to Europe at a later time, I thought of him quite a bit. When finally I rode horses in Hyde park and visited Lord Byron’s grave, I wrote to him, J not Byron.

Screen Shot 2014-10-30 at 3.27.43 AM Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 10.11.08 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-30 at 3.27.56 AM

It seemed like of everyone I knew J would best understand the revelry of those particular experiences. It also felt like the thing to do, whilst I was so inside literary history, to reach across time a little into a history of my own. The email went unanswered and, as I later learned, unread.

According to Exupery, we are responsible for those we have tamed, I subscribe to this religiously now, but certainly neither one of us knew it at the time.

I didn’t see him again for quite a while. We were reunited some three or four years later under strange and serendipitous circumstances. It was a true chance event that seemed to be imbued with special meaning if not for any other reason than its timeliness and randomness. It was a reboot of J & M, version 2.0, but don’t be fooled, the newer version is not always the better. Our reunion yielded a peculiar revival of our long lost friendship, transforming it and, in a somewhat dramatic fashion, ending it completely….

To be continued in  Part 3……

pon and zi3_large

23 thoughts on “Part 2: On lonely girls and broken hearts

  1. Hahaha. Well, I received my degree in Com. Lit. and it was the single greatest experience of my life. I went to school as a mature student thinking how much I loved to read and how curious I was about the world and I just had all these questions all the time. When I arrived at school on my first day I took a huge breathe of relief and realized I was finally at home. I can understand your regrets though. Universities have been marketing themselves as a great avenue to employment. This is absolutely not what university is for. Ever.
    My education did help me snag a wife though and some very dear friends. As well as show me that the world is infinite and magical.
    Love your posts. Not drivel but fun and interesting and honest.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How strange to be reading your post and listening to Dwight Yoakam. It fits so well. A story like this can only end badly and I am prepared to read something sad, maybe disturbing, I might even flinch. Did you get your degree in Comp. Lit.? I must say I like your choice in academic persuits.

    Like

    1. I dont know that it’s disturbing but it was definitely sad for me. Sad and strange. I did get it, i sorely regret it too, it’s the most useless education, i am equipped to work as noone nowhere. It’s like he sort of education young women of good breeding receaved in 18/19th century france/england or what not, accomplished singers, deawers and readers they were, greatly suitable for marriage…. My education didn’t even make me that hahaha.
      Thanks for your comment, i love it that you read my drivel, quite makes my day

      Like

  3. I feel like I’m back in my adolescence going to my weekly, Saturday matinee double showing horror movies extravaganza, which, before the main features, had two warm up reels. One was a newsreel (yes, they really used to show them in movies; and yes, I’m old enough to remember them). The second warm up to the double showing horror movies was the serial film. It usually lasted maybe 10 minutes and it was always an adventure, always exciting, and always ended with a cliffhanger that made you want to come back next week to see how the hero and the heroine escaped the seemingly inescapable situation they found themselves in at the end of the current chapter.

    I feel the same way reading this as I did back then.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s an amazing compliment, yay! THANK YOU. So satisfying.
      the story gets a little weird in its last act lol i warn you, it kind of goes bad like dairy left out for a week, but i’m trying to pull it together with some timely psychological insights!

      Like

Thoughts?

